RAF Squadrons 55 Squadron Royal Air Force PLAQUE Badge RAF

RAF Squadrons 55 Squadron Royal Air Force PLAQUE Badge RAF
60020-AA98 : £10.99
In Stock


Guaranteed original; c. 1970s. produced badge.

These plaque badges measure about 40mm X 25mm and have each been hand enameled with embellishments in 24 carat gold. They were issued by the Danbury Mint as collectable souvenirs for veterans and collectors alike back in the 1970s and are now very hard to come by. These are the larger plaques as opposed to the lapel badges and so were issued WITHOUT REAR FIXINGS. A very nice RAF Squadron souvenir.

Squadrons are the main form of flying unit of the Royal Air Force (RAF). These include Royal Flying Corps (RFC) and Royal Naval Air Service (RNAS) squadrons incorporated into the RAF when it was formed on 1 April 1918, during the First World War. Other squadrons of the RAF include those from Commonwealth air forces which have served within the RAF structure and squadrons of the Fleet Air Arm before it transferred to the Royal Navy in 1939. Some squadrons have an individual tradition of presenting their squadron number in Roman numerals or using a suffix to their squadron number (such as "(F)" for "Fighter", "(B)" for "Bomber" or "(AC)" for "Army Co-operation") to indicate a past or present role. An example would be No. 18 (Bomber) Squadron RAF which currently actually operates the heavy-lift Chinook helicopter. However, these practices have, at least in the past, been deprecated at higher levels and generally only apply to certain squadrons with long traditions, especially those numbered from 1-20. Flying training units are generally (Reserve) squadrons, although they are regular active-duty units; exceptions to this include the Operational Conversion Units as they provide aircrew training on front line aircraft. Some Squadron names include the location they were originally formed.